We are a community of Christian academic physicians and scientists who are committed to helping one another discern and live up to our faith-based calling. We endeavor to transform our academic communities through faith, fellowship, and scholarship.

News & Events

NEWS

  • CMDA CEO interviewed David L. Larson, MD and Kim-Lien Nguyen, MD about the motivation for CAPS – Listen to podcast at CMDA Matters to be released April 23, 2020.
  • If you are a CAPS member, we are interested in knowing how we can serve you and the Christian academic medical community. Please complete our CAPS Membership Needs Survey, which will be emailed to you.
  • Local medical center/university group leaders needed – please contact Dr. Kim-Lien Nguyen by completing the form under "Contact Us".
  • If you are already a CAPS member, please explore the membership portal. If you are interested in international medical education, please consider volunteering for CMDA's Medical Education International.

 

EVENTS

Wednesday, January 27, 2021
CAPS Faculty: My Walk in Academic Medicine
Speakers:
Dr. Nicholas Comninellis
Dr. Jad Kebbe
Monday, February 22, 2021
Six Texts on Cultural Engagement
Speaker:
Darrell Bock, PhD
Director of Cultural Engagement, Hendricks Center for Christian Leadership & Cultural Engagement
Professor, Dallas Theological Seminary
Tuesday, March 23, 2021
8:30 a.m. PST / 10:30 a.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. ET
Human Flourishing
Speaker:
Tyler J. VanderWeele, PhD
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
A Christian’s Walk in Academic Medicine
Speakers:
Robert Hoffman, MD
Inis Bardella, MD
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
From Hippocrates to Evidence-based Medicine: Profit and Loss
Speaker:
John Patrick, MD
Wednesday, June 30, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
Six Texts on Cultural Engagement: Part II
Speaker:
Darrell Bock, PhD
Director of Cultural Engagement, Hendricks Center for Christian Leadership & Cultural Engagement
Professor, Dallas Theological Seminary
July 2021
BREAK
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
A Christian’s Walk in Academic Medicine
Speakers:
Debra A. Schwinn, MD
Richard Allman, MD
Monday, September 20, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
Six Texts on Cultural Engagement: Part III
Speaker:
Darrell Bock, PhD
Director of Cultural Engagement, Hendricks Center for Christian Leadership & Cultural Engagement
Professor, Dallas Theological Seminary
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
5:00 p.m. PST / 7:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. ET
A Christian’s Walk in Academic Medicine
Speakers:
Robert Hoffman, MD
Inis Bardella, MD
November 2021
TBD
December 2021
TBD